Would you like mash with that?

I’m pretty certain that we’ll all be sick of the term “mashup” by the end of the year – but for now it’s the buzz. A micro review of the 3 mainstream editors on Cnet flagged up Popfly for me, which I hadn’t even heard of, and illustrates how much attention the big players Google, Yahoo and MS are paying to this aspect of Web2.

If you wanted to teach this and stay within the web2 paradigm you could do worse than look at QEDWiki – it’s a Wiki and mashup environment in one, hosted by IBM. So you can work collaboratively, invite people onto your project, share your code and document what you’ve done all at the same time. It comes with abundant tutorials (some of which I can even understand – and I am no coder), forums, feed services and widget catalogues – just about everything you need. And why might students be interested in scaling these particular heights? Because there’s gold in them thar’ hills…

3 thoughts on “Would you like mash with that?

  1. martin king August 7, 2007 / 2:37 pm

    Looks fantastic and I even sat though the whole presentatiopn

    But I wonder if this is the thin end of the wedge whereby the old players like IBM, Microsoft, Sun, etc get to bend web 2 out of shape.

    I didn’t like the indication that you have to download something.
    I didn’t like the statement on their site that “existing 1.1 accounts cannot be ported to Version 1.3”
    I wonder who will provide the back end systems.

    I can see the threat that systems like this will be tied into certain backends and we get the whole Explorer extensions business again.

    As usual I would lookforward to a Google version that’s completely “out there” with no downloads or plugins.

  2. rdsc August 7, 2007 / 10:08 pm

    Not sure – I think the download thing is for Companies who want to mash “real” data. I’ll play with it some more – the thing that attracted me to it is that it allows you to mash Google widgets and the scripts available on programmableweb.com – I’ve been wondering for ages how people even start “playing” with this stuff. But it’s all on-line – I didn’t download anything: “PHP 5 and hosted on a LAMP, WAMP, or MAMP stack”, and there’s no resentment in the mash forums I know of about them trying to get proprietary. Log in – you get a better view.

  3. martin king August 8, 2007 / 10:44 pm

    You are possibly right – it is best to have a go rather than just read about it.

    I wonder if “Big Blue” really have go it – it is difficult when yo have all that legacy business to lok after – its easier for the new start-ups.

Leave a Reply

